AoW:SM Gameplay Help & Strategies
Moderated by ChowGuy, Swolte, Ziggurat Mason

Hop to:    
loginhomeregisterhelprules
Bottom
Topic Subject: AI and protecting towns
posted 11-19-13 10:05 AM EDT (US)   
Hi all,

I just started playing this game recently. I'm currently on the Mount Abydor phase of the Julia campaign. Eventually I took over one of those lookout towers that expands the map and found the city that held the main orc hero who was at war with me. I noticed that once I discovered the city he started building up his forces to protect it quite fast (building/summoning new units and moving units from other locations to the city). That all makes sense of course, my question is this:

What if I wouldn't have discovered his city so quick? Would he still just have been pumping out units? I'm just trying to get a sense of how the AI works in this game. For instance, would it have been better for me to have a couple strong parties to raid his city before I discovered it? Or does it not really matter?
Replies:
posted 11-20-13 03:49 AM EDT (US)     1 / 3  
Hello oasisbhrnw.

Nice to see new faces.

I will use "quotation marks" to explain and make you imagine how things work.

First at all: The AI in AoWSM is very silly.

It (AI) have some advantages in exchange. The AI always see the whole map, all your armies all the time, all the things that "are". It did not know "fog of war" like we human players.
So to answer a part of your question: No. It does not make a difference if you own his tower now or later. He have seen your "power" already before.
The only difference is that he (AI) have not seen a "danger" in your army before because you was more far away as now. If you move closer the AI "feels" the danger of your incoming power and then it starts to act against this power - but it has seen you already before.

To answer more of your question:
The AI only "cares" and "fears" of enemy army strength.
It knows the level of your units (1-4).